Embrace Everyone

Empower People

Inspire Hearts

Embody Christ

Our History

Living Waters District of the United Methodist Church

The Living Waters District connects members of 131 United Methodist Churches in Amelia, Appomattox, Brunswick, Buckingham, Charlotte, Chesterfield, Cumberland, Dinwiddie, Greensville, Halifax, Lunenburg, Mecklenburg, Nottoway, Prince Edward, Prince George, Surry, Sussex, Southampton Counties and the cities and towns of Alberta, Amelia Court House, Blackstone, Boydton, Boykins, Brodnax, Burkeville, Charlotte Court House, Chase City, Chester, Clarksville, Colonial Heights, Courtland, Crewe, DeWitt, Dillwyn, Drakes Branch, Emporia, Farmville, Fort Lee, Franklin, Hampden Sydney, Hopewell, Ivor, Jarratt, Kenbridge, Keysville, La Crosse, Lawrenceville, McKenney, Newsoms, Petersburg, Phenix, Scottsburg, South Boston, South Hill, Stony Creek, Suffolk, Victoria, Wakefield, Waverly, and Windsor with the Virginia Annual Conference, the United Methodist Church, and the World in ministry to others on behalf of Christ.

The clergy and laity of the Living Waters District are supervised by a Conference-appointed District Superintendent.  The Virginia Conference comprises eight districts serving over 1,100 local United Methodist congregations across most of the Commonwealth of Virginia.

Virginia Conference Bishop:  Sue Haupert-Johnson

District Superintendent:  James “Jay” H. Carey, Jr.